So, Miss Stella has finally joined the outside world! She is such a sweet, precious little baby. She has brought so much joy to our lives already and all she does is sleep!
Monday I had a doctor appointment & when he checked me nothing was happening. My cervix was still posterior and I had no effacement. I was only 1 1/2 cm dilated and it seemed as if she was just not wanting to leave her snug little home. My doctor asked me what I wanted to do at that point. Before my appointment Matt wanted me to ask if I could be induced on Tuesday. I asked my doctor & he said he would call the hospital & see if anything was available. He came back in a few minutes later & told me to be at the hospital at 6 am on Tuesday.
I was so set on Thursday, that when he did say Tuesday it was like a whirlwind for the rest of Monday. I got the things I needed done taken care of, had lunch w/my sister and went shopping.
Tuesday morning Matt & I headed to the hospital at 5:30 am. I barely slept Monday night and I was having contractions throughout the night. Apparently I went into labor on my own Monday evening, but I didn't pay much attention to the contractions since I knew I was going to be induced in a few hours. When we were checking in, a woman was being wheeled on a bed from triage screaming her head off. Obviously she was in labor, and it was hard for me not to laugh. Especially since I knew I would be in that pain in a short while. By time I had my iv & the pitocin it was roughly 7 am. I started having contractions almost immediately. My doc checked me around 9 am and I was 70% effaced. That's when he said I was already in the early stages of labor before we got to the hospital. He broke my water and he said he would be back around noon.
I could not talk through my contractions from the time they started. They were regular every 2-3 minutes and painful! My parents got to the hospital around 10 & I was feeling miserable. I was texting inbetween contractions letting my sister know what was going on. She really wanted to be there & was finishing up things with her work.
At 9 am I was 2 cm. When I asked for my epidural I was 4 cm. By the time I received my epidural I was 7 cm. I literally had just spoke to my nurse & she told me if I felt like I had to poop or if I heard a baby cry to call her right away. My doctor came in the room & he said since the nurse had just checked me and I was 7 cm he would go to his office, then come back in about an hour (his office is 5 min from the hospital). Literally as soon as he walked out of the room I felt the urgency to push! I felt it a couple of times, and I felt silly for saying anything since 5 minutes earlier I was at 7 cm! Finally I told my mom I felt like I had to push. I was so numb from the epidural I couldn't turn my body to call the nurse. My mom pushed the nurse call button, I told her I felt like I had to push and luckily my doctor was right outside the door. He came in, checked me & said "yep, you're complete". He then said I was amazing.
It took a few minutes to set the room up, so Matt & my doctor chatted for a few minutes about sports. When the room was ready I pushed through 3 contractions and she was here! He had to use forceps because her heart rate dropped and he wanted her out. I watched in the mirror as she was pulled out and I saw all of her dark hair. It is all so amazing. I wish I could relive that moment over and over again. There is nothing better in the world than to see your baby for the first time.
I cut the umbilical cord. Matt didn't want to, so my doctor asked if I wanted to do it. Of course!!! I will post a pic of me cutting the cord. There is a few pics I did not put on FB because I don't want everyone to see. Nothing graphic, but there is blood and stuff.
As we were pushing me, Matt, & my doc took bets on how big she would be. I said 8 lbs, my doc said 8 lbs 5 oz, and Matt said 8 lbs 2 oz...when she was weighed & the nurse said 8 lbs 15 oz I was shocked! Since Olivia was only 6 lbs 7 oz I didn't think I would have a baby that big!
Olivia is adjusting so well to her sister. We got video of her meeting her for the first time & it is so sweet. I hope she stays this sweet with her in the weeks to come. I'm trying to let Olivia help me with the baby as much as she can. I don't want her to feel rejected in anyway.
My hormones are so crazy. I hate that I cry over nothing. I mostly cry because I missed Olivia so badly while I was at the hospital. When she would leave in the evening I felt so sad and so lonely without her bubbly little self. Having Stella makes me feel like I love Olivia so much more than I knew. Especially being away from her for 2 nights. Its amazing how much love I have for the both of them. It just comes so naturally and feels so amazing.
We got home yesterday and I am so happy to be home. I was so lonely at the hospital when no one was visiting. Especially Tuesday night, that was awful because no one stayed the night with me. It was just Stella & I and the nurses checking us every few hours.
I will try to post more tonight and get a few more pictures on here.
4 comments:
Congratulations! You are amazing! That is one quick labor and delivery!!
How are you adjusting to having 2 at home? I have so many of the nerdy, generic questions like sleep and such, but I won't ask. I know you are probably hearing those all the time!!
Stella is beautiful and you look amazing! Did you get to cut the cord for Olivia too? That is really cool.
So glad she is happy and healthy
Congrats!! I'm really happy for you. The birth sounds amazing and not too bad, really. haha. Glad it went well and quick and that baby and mama are healthy.
congratulations carebear! Your delivery sounds very similar to my delivery with Cameron. I went from 3 to 10 centimeters in an hour after they broke my water! They didnt believe me when i said i felt like i needed to push! Ha i also pushed both of my boys out with only two contractions! I know some women who push for 3 and 4 hours! Crazy! How are you all adjusting? Love you bunches! :)
Post a Comment