Wednesday, January 9, 2008

A Real Post

The past week has been a bit hectic and stressful and I really haven't had the time to sit and type a "real" post. Last Thursday while I was working I started to feel the beginnings of a head cold. Friday I felt a little worse, but well enough to go to Target and NY & Co. By time Saturday morning rolled around I felt terrible. All I did was sneeze and blow my nose all day. I cleaned the house regardless of how I felt and it made me feel worse. I was really wanting Outback, so I took some Sudafed and we went to Outback for dinner. I could still taste their sinfully bad cheese fries so it was well worth it! After we ate we had to do our weekly Sam's Club run and surprisingly I all of a sudden started feeling better! The Sudafed kicked in, my headache went away and I could actually breathe!!! When we got home (after Olivia screamed and cried the entire 20 minute ride home) I took 2 more Sudafed and got a good night's rest. Sunday I woke up and felt a TON better, I was so happy! I am still a little nasaly, but I sound better each day.

Sunday night (well, I guess technically it was early Monday morning) Huck came into our bedroom and woke me up. Olivia slept with us (she often does) and when Huck woke me up I could smell throw up. Olivia threw up in the middle of the night and it was all over the sheets and all over her. She was starting to stir a little bit and she started choking. My adrenaline took over (she was laying on her back) and I flipped her over one handed and she threw up more. It was all formula, so it was pretty stinky! I changed her pj's and dried the sheets the best I could and she went back to sleep. When she woke up Monday morning she threw up again and didn't want to take her bottle. I called her doctor and spoke to the nurse and she told me to give her pedialyte and water. Matt had already left for work by time I talked to the nurse, but he came home with the pedialyte and lunch. She kept the water down and she took a little pedialyte, but didn't want to eat much. I was trying to keep her hydrated the best I could. She slept the entire afternoon, which was the best thing for her. When she woke up she acted a lot better and her coloring was better. I gave her some formula, but less than what she usually eats and she kept it down. The evening went on and she seemed to be doing fine. As I was giving her her last bottle for the night she threw up again. I had to change her pj's and calm her down. I had asked Matt to give me a bottle of just water and as I went to give it to her the water spilled all over her. Matt didn't screw the nipple part on correctly. Olivia started crying and I started to yell at Matt! Oh it made me so mad!!! I had to change her pj's AGAIN and it was going on 10:30 pm and she was still awake. I had to work Tuesday morning, so I wanted to be asleep by 11 pm. I finally got her to sleep and she slept fine. It was just a very irritating evening.

Tuesday I had to get up at 6:30 am, something I haven't done in months. It wasn't too bad. Olivia ALWAYS sleeps 'til atleast 7:30 or 8 and I thought she would sleep longer since she was up so late Monday. NOPE! When I woke up she woke up and of course she wanted only me and nothing to do with Matt! Eventually Matt got her mind off of me and she was fine, but it was stressful for a little bit. I got home from work around 1 pm (I had to cover Amy because her daughter Kennedy had an EEG to test her brain waves to hopefully find what is causing her seizures) and my dad was at my house. He watched Olivia, Gavin, and Avery for a few hours at my house. Olivia had kept her formula down and hasn't thrown up since Monday night. Whatever she had seems to have come and went.

I feel bad for snapping at Matt the way I did. I was stressed from her being sick and stressed about going to work and waking up on time that it just topped it all off for me when I had to change her pj's AGAIN!!!

I've been planning things for Olivia's birthday too. I am going to order her invitations and a few things this weekend. I have a "To Do" list of things I want accomplished with our house before her party and started working on it. I have a couple things done, but have a lot more to go!!!

My dad has been busy working on the basement. Our goal is to have the playroom finished by time of her birthday party. Then after that is finished he will start on the family room. Hopefully that won't take too terribly long since it mostly all open space. What do I know though!!!

4 comments:

Crystal said...

Oh I know how stressful that must have been for you when that bottle spilled all over her and I would have reacted the EXACT same way but when it's not me going thru it, it's actually pretty funny!!! I think one day you will look back at it and laugh too! Oh, I just chuckled and thought "OH the joys of having a baby and a husband that TRIES to help!!!" ha ha I'm sure Matt understood where your frustration was coming from.....We mothers are allowed to act like that sometimes!

I am glad your feeling better.

I am also glad that Lil O is feeling better now. Wow, I would have freaked when she choked! Did you thank Huck for waking you up...wow, that's like he knew somethng was wrong!!! Now that's a cool dog!

Keep me posted on Kennedy and tell Amy that they are in my prayers!

Cheryl said...

I am sorry you all got sick. I am glad you all feel better now. It is very stressful when they are sick, we all get testy!!

I hope you get everything done and all planning done. I'm sure it will all turn out GREAT!!

SamandSawyersMom said...

Oh goodness, i would have eaten my husband so Matt should feel lucky to still have all his parts!!

I am glad she feels better and that your head cold is gone too. I say good for you for going all out for her first birthday. i did big parties for both of my kid's first ones. I hope it turns out nice.. I am sure it will. Deck the tables with pictures of her first year and people will love that!!

The baby I watch is one today and we just had a party now I have a mess to clean up. Thanks for the long post!!

kellerie said...

oh, how awful! i remember a few nights like that. i'm glad to hear you're both feeling better, though.