Today has been a bit of a traumatic day for Olivia. We had to go to Kroger to buy some beverages. We were TOTALLY out! I mean, I had to drink some of Olivia's nursery water lastnight....that's how out of any water, coke, diet coke etc...we were bone dry (literally). I don't drink tap water because it tastes really gross and I am not making it up. My parents think the same thing. I guess its Kentucky water.
As I was getting ready to go to Kroger Olivia decided she wanted to play with my bottle of lotion. I thought it was ok and I was right there watching to make sure she didn't eat any of it ....plus it was occuping her so it helped me get ready. Well, I am not sure what she did, but somehow she scratched her gum with the bottle and made herself bleed. I of course panicked and looked at her mouth and it was all bloody. At first I thought she knocked out one of her two teeth. I thought about calling the doctor, but what would they do? So, I got a towel and put pressure on her poor little gums (what I could) she kept pushing my hand out of the way. After a couple minutes I thought to get one of her teethers out of the freezer. It helped her almost immediately. The bleeding stopped after a couple of minutes and it was time for her to take a nap. We went into her room and I rocked her to sleep with her lullaby cd playing. She was sound asleep and I layed her in her crib. She woke up crying. I felt guilty because she scratched her gums so I picked her up, rocked her again and she fell back to sleep. I layed her back in her crib and she woke up again. By this time I could tell she just wanted me to hold her while she slept, so I kept her up, got myself ready and we went to Kroger.
Luckily she didn't fall asleep on the way there, but fell asleep on the way back so she got a good hour nap in.
I just feel so bad because her poor little gums must have hurt. She's doing ok now, but I still feel bad :(
She learned to open up our vanity cabinet doors yesterday. All of a sudden she went into our bathroom and she opened one of the doors. Well then lastnight she figuresd out how to open up our pantry doors and our closet door (they slide open) Guess its a good thing everything is babyproofed!
4 comments:
Oh poor little Olivia!! Don't feel bad, stuff happens to all of us. She will be fine. I'm glad you made it to Kroger. Hope she had a good nap. Have a good day!!
Oh, sorry poor Olivia! I'm sure she's all better now though. So sit and relax with a nice cold (and earned) beverage!!!
yeah that happens. I have le tmy kids a million times chew on non toys but that does happen often that is why we really should switch her to her own toy that is made for her to chew on. She will be fine.
Her little mouth will still be adorable.
She'll be fine. One time mom had the brilliant idea of letting Avery play with an empty pop can! Well, as you can probably imagine Avery ended up cutting her finger on the can and there was blood everywhere. I thought for sure we would need to get her stitches, but it ended up being just a tiny cut. Sometimes those little ones can bleed enough to scare the crap out of you when it ends up not being bad at all.
Post a Comment