Thursday, August 23, 2007

Long Day At Work

Whew! What a long day! I worked from 8:30 am 'til 7 pm! I covered Amy today (the girl who now has my old job) Dr. Williams had office hours and of course ran behind. I was so anxious to get home to see my little darlin'. My dad watched her from about 11 am 'til 7:30, my mom came over after she got off work and stayed with her 'til I got home. I didn't get home until 7:45 because I wound up talking to Missy, she is one of our skin care technicians. I don't get to see her much so it was nice chatting with her....even though I was wanting to race home!

The day went rather quickly, it was actually quite nice to be there and do my old job. I felt like I had never left the position! I just got back into the swing of things and it went great! At the end of the day Dr. Williams and I sat down and talked. He said some very nice things to me. Well, first we started talking about my hours, he really wants me to work more. Which, is a compliment to me. But he continued to tell me I am exceptional at what I do, that I have a soothing affect on patients. He said a patient could be so fired up and mad and I can sit and talk to them and smoothe things over so well. He also said how I keep things flowing in the office so smoothly too. He said things weren't chaotic like they usually are with Amy and it was just a great day. He said it felt like we were all a family again! It just really made me feel so good. He is paying me more than my regular pay for today since I did more than what I am supposed to do, which made me happy:) He also told me if I were to work every Thursday afternoon from 3-7 pm (instead of 8-12) that he would send Amy home when I got there and...the best part....he would compensate me for a babysitter!!!! I would have my dad watch her and pay him for it, but to have Dr. Williams basically pay for my sitter would be fantastic! It made me feel like he really must want me there to offer that.

Dr. Williams and I have always had a good relationship, but he has never come out to tell me how much he appreciates me. To hear all of this tonight really made my day. I get so discouraged with certain things at work, that it just really reinforced some things. I get sick and tired of hearing how great Amy is at her job. NO, no she really isn't great...she just puts on an act. She pawns her work onto other people and a lot of people are tired of it. I can't count how many times other employees asked me, begged me to come back and work full time again! And Dr. Williams basically told me tonight that Amy isn't as wonderful as he once thought. Yeah, she does a good job for him, but I think after today he thought some things thru. I hate to sound so arrogant and full of myself, but I have busted my butt off for him and its about darn time I get positive reinforcement! I also found out Amy has a vendetta against another employee to get her fired. She is planting seeds in Dr. Williams head just because she doesn't like her (its Bonnie, Crystal) Bonnie had her yearly review yesterday and is very upset about it. Apparently Amy tells Dr. Williams things and then Dr. Williams put it in Bonnie's review. Which, is uncalled for and very immature of Amy. So, Missy, Polly and myself have all decided we have a vendetta to PROVE that Bonnie is a great employee. I don't know how many patient's say how much they love Bonnie, but its a lot. Yeah, she can be a bit highstrung at times, but she has the practice's best interest at heart. She is very anal, which I love. I would much rather have an anal person than a slacker! Even though Crystal is the only one who knows Bonnie, please keep her in your thoughts. She was very down today and I hate that. All because of a 22 year old's childish behavior.

4 comments:

Cheryl said...

Good, I'm glad you feel appreciated! It is really nice to hear that once in awhile!!

Crystal said...

WOW, I am glad you finally got to feel appreciated! Why is Amy being so stupid??? Why is she out to get Bonnie! Bonnie is great! She's very good at her job and all the patients adore her........Amy needs to pay attention to HERSELF and leave others alone. Hang in there Carebear and tell Bonnie that I love her!

SamandSawyersMom said...

I want to say that I am personally so thrilled for you to get the praise that you deserve. I am one of those people that gets overlooked sometimes when people are handing out the thank yous and I can tell you that when they come, it feels incredible. I barely know you but i feel so proud of you right now!!!! Great job Carrie.
Just be careful not to take on more than you can handle without being so stressed out. i know how you are about your house and your child and now your job. That is a lot. I would just let my house suffer (we all know that) but you won't. Be careful not to burn yourself out trying to please this man and keeping up with everything else. Good for you girl, good for you!!!!!!!!!!
And to root for the underdog...wow!
That takes a good person because it is much easier to jump on the band wagon of people who are hurting her. You are a special girl carrie.

Amy said...

Congrats on the comments from your boss! That's awesome. You had a long day - dad said that Olivia did very well though.