Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Insanity Is Insane

A couple weeks ago Matt started Insanity.  Insanity is multiple workout dvds with intense training.  It's similar to P90X, but from what I understand a little better.  You follow a trainer and log your progress etc, but you go at your own pace.  Today I started it for the first time.  Matt warned me that its a hardcore workout, but I still wanted to do it.  I don't need to lose any weight, but I do like to tone up.

So....yeah, I started it today and tonight I am sore.  I did Complete Cardio and Cardio Abs.  The Cardio Abs was actually easier than I expected, but there were a few reps I couldn't do.  I need to build myself up to it.  The Complete Cardio was horrible.  I was sweating like a pig and it was only the warm up!!  Once I got to the actual workouts I felt like mush.  I did a few reps, but I know my limit and I stopped.  The trainer in the video repeatedly states to rest, drink water, etc...and not to push your limit.  I am not very flexible and I have never been flexible, so there are some things I might never be able to do, but I hope to prove myself wrong!  I hope after continual use of the videos I will become flexible and able to do some things I can't right now.  I honestly think that I am going to do the warm ups as my workout until I get used to it. The warm ups are 30 minutes, so its a nice workout within itself by doing sprints, jumping jacks, butt kicks, mummy kicks etc...then I will do a few of the workouts I know I can do. 

After all that, it is fun!  I'm looking forward to doing it again tomorrow :)

4 comments:

Unknown said...

That's awesome!!! Even if you don't need to lose weight, its always important to exercise to stay healthy! I am much healthier now at a heavier weight because I eat right and workout everyday than I was when I was just naturally thin! I sometimes use my Biggest Loser for WII to workout and its awesome too! Keep it up girlie :)

Cheryl said...

a couple friends of mine want to start doing it, it may kill my fat butt I think we are going to give it a try!

Char said...

Cool!! A 30 minute warm up like that would do it for me too. haha. Keep it up and keep us posted!

kellerie said...

I have always wanted to try it. I don't think I'm quite at that level yet, though.