Thursday, December 18, 2008
Foiled
Matt has been wanting this Bearcats Adidas track jacket since the day he saw it at homecoming in October. I told him at the time I would buy it for him as a late birthday present...he said no. Well, everytime we are on or around campus we see someone wearing it! His friend Jerry bought one about a month ago too. So, I thought it would be a perfect Christmas present. He would never think I would actually go on campus (by myself) and buy it, so the odds of actually getting it were slim to none (so he thinks). Well, I did some research and I found the jacket online about a month ago. I didn't buy it at the time, I wanted to wait 'til it got a little closer to Christmas. Last week at work I went to the website to order the jacket (I didn't want to risk him seeing what websites were on our most recent searches on our home computer.) The darn jacket was sold out online. URGH! Amy (at work) had the brilliant idea that I call DuBois bookstore. That is what I did. Luckily they had it!!! So, I ordered it, I had it shipped to my parents house just in case it came when he was home. My dad brought it over Tuesday when he watched Olivia. I wrapped it in a big box (to disguise it) and used Olivia's Disney Princess wrapping paper, so he wouldn't know the difference between a gift that could potentially be his or not. I had the grand scheme of putting it with all of Olivia's gifts on Christmas and actually have Olivia open it. It was a perfect plan. Well, I didn't check the mailbox on Tuesday. When Matt got home from work I asked him if he checked the mail on his way in. He didn't. He asked if I wanted him to go get it. I said, "Well, I wouldn't mind". So, he got the mail and when he came back in he had a HUGE grin on his face. The girl who took my order asked me for my billing address and mailed me a receipt. It said "DuBois Bookstore" on the return address, so he knew immediately what I did. I was so (and still am) very disappointed. I asked him if he wanted to open his gift then, but he said he will wait. UGH!!!!! My elaborate plan has be ruined.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
5 comments:
great plan!!! it should have worked! i'm sorry it was ruined but at least he's happy!
Oh man!!! You did have a great plan though!!
dang! that stinks! You had such a good plan.....sorry girlie! What an awesome thing to do for you hubby!
oh that stinks!!! all that effort, and to get caught anyways!
i sympathize. It's impossible for me to surprise brian. he can literally just look at the wrapped present and guess what it is.
oh crap that stinks. i am so sorry. i would have cried!!
that is why we just buy what we want and not do gifts....ha
Post a Comment