Saturday, November 15, 2008

Whats Going On....

My eye is open today. Well, it was open yesterday too, but its a little easier to see out of today. My surgeon put what is called a 'gas bubble' in my eye. I noticed it the day of my surgery. Its more annoying than anything. I can only see it (obviously because its inside my eye) and it looks like a perfectly round raindrop at the bottom part of my eye. He did not do the gas bubble with my left eye, so I was a little concerned at first. It is there to help my eye drain quickly and have the retina reattach quicker. I am back to no eyelashes on one eye. My eyelashes have grown back nicely and quickly in my left eye, so that makes me happy. The gas bubble will go away in a few days. Its a little hard to see. More so when I walk around because it blocks my vision a little bit.

Today Matt took Olivia over to my parents house so I could stay home and rest. He has a test he needs to take for work coming up, so after he dropped Olivia off he went to the library to study. Its been rather quiet and lonely here today, but its also been nice to rest and not worry about my Little Bit. Speaking of Matt's work, I don't know if anyone has seen on CNN or the Today Show. Fidelity is laying off 1,700 employees. Nationally there are 44,000 employees, but its still stressful. They started laying off people on Wednesday. Its been mostly back office personnel. Meaning people who don't talk with clients etc...They will lay off more people in January and its rumored that Matt's group will be affected. So, please pray he passes his test and he doesn't get the shoulder tap anytime soon. On the flip side of it, Matt has done really well in his position and the group he is in is the only Financial Planning group. Meaning his group is the closest to the clients. His group actually sells the annuities etc. So, even though its rumored his group will be affected there are many aspects in his group to consider.
The economy will get better. Its predicted by mid 2009 things will pick up again. It won't happen overnight, but it will happen.

I started taking prenatal vitamins last month. Our plan is to start trying next summer, that is as long as Matt has a job. I wanted to start taking prenatal vitamins now because with Olivia I started taking them about 8 months before we started trying. I just feel better knowing I am getting my body prepared earlier rather than waiting just in case I get pregnant sooner rather than later. I need to let my eyes heal a little while longer too. My ob/gyn said to make sure everything is healed with my eyes before we started trying. So, he gave me the prescription for the big old horse pills I have to take!! Its exciting for me knowing I am taking them. I always knew I wanted to have more children after Olivia was born, but to actually start preparing my body to house a baby again is exciting. I pray everyday that I will be able to get pregnant again easily and have a safe and healthy pregnancy and another healthy baby.

Matt has season tickets to the Bearcats football games. Him and his friend Chris go in on the tickets every year and I very rarely go to the games. Well, for me, watching college football is a lot more fun than watching the NFL and a couple weeks ago I was able to go to the game with Matt. Chris had other obligations and wasn't using his ticket, so I told Matt I wanted to go. We had a great time together. Besides homecoming last month (which we sat in the student section and didn't use our season ticket seats) I hadn't been to a game in a long time. It makes it more fun because the team is so good now. The seats Matt & Chris have are so good too. They are on the 25 yard line and are close to the field. The seats have seat backs on them, so they are pretty comfortable. The night we went UC played South Florida. It was on ESPN, so it was a little longer than the regular 2 1/2-3 hours that it usually takes to play a game. It was also a Blackout game meaning all UC fans had to wear black. We won last weekend and lastnight and if we win next Saturday there is a really good chance we will be playing in a bowl game on New Year's Day in Miami!!! Our friends, Sarah and Jerry, reserved a condo in Miami in the hopes of UC playing there on New Year's Day. We won't be going because I am unable to fly for a few months because of my eyes, but it would be such a good time.

We are getting ready for the holidays around here too. I wanted to put up our decorations last week before my surgery, but I didn't get around to it. We are going to my mother in laws for Thanksgiving, so I am hoping I will be able to get everything up next weekend. I always like having everything up before we leave to go to her house, so I don't have to worry about it when we get home. We are finished shopping for Olivia. We still need to buy my parents, Gavin, and Avery, but for the most part we are done! I am so excited because we always wait til the last minute! I have everything we need to buy for whom we need to buy and its just a matter of me being able to see straight and getting it all.

Well, I am going to attempt in getting a shower. Its hard to see through this gas bubble urgh....

6 comments:

Amanda said...

I am incredibly impressed with your lengthy popst...all with a gassy eye! You go!
I am glad you are doing so well. When do you get feedback from the dr. on if he thinks this took care of the problem? I will pray hard for great news! Make that "spec"tacular news!
I always think that I am going to be prepared for Christmas by mid November. This year I have no clue what to do!
Is Olivia excited for Santa?

Carrie said...

Atleast my gassy eye doesn't stink or make noise :) I go back to the dr. next Friday. He checked my left eye yesterday and said I still have a little fluid in it. There is a 90% chance the surgeries fixed the problem.

We tell Olivia Santa's coming, but she is still oblivious. Its a good thing because I slip every once in awhile!

Cheryl said...

I am getting excited for the holidays, i have to clean all this week and get ready for thanksgiving and then our decorations go up!! i have some shopping done and a pretty good game plan for the rest! i love christmas shopping and wrapping! LOVE IT!!

i am sorry about your gassy eye but it is only a few days to fix a major problem...hang in there. i hope you heal quickly!! but christmas you'll have perfect eyes!!

Amy said...

The gassy eye would drive me nuts!! Hopefully it will be gone soon though. I hope everything works out with Matt's job - I know the feeling!

Crystal said...

aww Carebear, it was so exciting to hear you are preparing for baby number 2 yay! Are you guys hoping for a brother for Lil O?? That would be so cute! yikes, gassy eye, now that's something I have never heard! ha Hope it heals quickly!! love ya!

SamandSawyersMom said...

how matrute are oyu for taking the vitamins this early. i ahve those mothers...they make me so sick. I take them when I find out since both of mine were surprises.

I will pray for Matt's job.

I think the economy will get better too naturally but our new president will probably get the credit. Whatever, as long as it gets better!