Sunday, February 24, 2008

YAY!

Hopefully this is the last post I will have to post about Olivia's sickness. She is getting better and we noticed a BIG difference in her yesterday. Friday was a little stressful for us. Since I've been in contact with her doctor everyday I obviously have to tell him how she is doing etc...She threw up Thursday after we got home from the doctor and she threw up again on Friday late morning . I talked to her doctor around 1 pm on Friday and he had us go get lab work done. It was for a Renal Profile, basically to make sure her kidneys were functioning and not failing.

Poor baby has been picked and poked all week! She did good when the tech drew her blood. She sat in my lap the entire time and right before he was going to poke her with the needle she got distracted and that's when he stuck her. She really didn't cry too much. She got a little sticker that says "I Got Stuck For This Sticker" I put it on her coat :)

Olivia's doctor went out of town. He left Friday for the Bahamas, so I had to wait on the doctor on call to call me back with the results. Talk about being stressed out!!! We had the test done around 2:30 and the doctor called me around 8 on Friday evening. Everything is fine. Her oxygen level is now in the normal range and her kidneys are doing what they should. I felt like I couldn't breathe until I got that phone call and then it was like a breath of fresh air.

She has become A LOT more active. She started to walk around yesterday and squeal and talk and want to play and EAT! She's still a little shaky on her legs, but I think she'll be back to her normal self by Tuesday or Wednesday. She held ALL her food down yesterday for the first time in a week. She has started to eat yogurt again and is interested in everything I am eating again. Still not chewing it and swallowing it, but she wants to atleast put things in her mouth and taste it. That's something we have been dealing with, so that's nothing new.

She still looks a little peaked, but I think she'll start to get her coloring back as she gets stronger too. I am so relieved she is getting back to being the healthy, happy baby she is. In her 1 year of life she's never been sick like this, so I think her immune system has taken a little longer to fight it off than if she were a little older.

I have some party pics to post, so I will post them tomorrow. I've been waiting until she started to feel better before I posted them. Have a GOOOOD Sunday!

6 comments:

Cheryl said...

Oh good for her. I am glad she is finally doing better. can't wait to see her party pics.

kellerie said...

yay! i'm glad she's doing better. it's always so scary when you're little one is sick.

SamandSawyersMom said...

Oh man, i would have been a basket case while waiting on those results. Goodness, that lasted a long time. She might be one of those chidlren who gets things easily or gets them worse so I would be very aware of that when it is flu season. Poor kid.

Crystal said...

YAY I am so happy she's feeling better and her test results came back with good news!!! Once she gets a few days of food in her, she will be stronger again and more steady on her feet! It's sooo scary when our babies are sick and it makes me feel so bad for people who have kids are very seriously ill..........I can't even imagine it!

Jamie said...

I can't believe you had to wait so long for the test, I would've been so worried. I'm so glad that she's doing better though, I'm sure that's a big relief for you. I can't wait to see the pictures from the party.

Amy said...

So glad that munchkin is doing better :)