Thursday, February 21, 2008

Back To The Doctor....

I hate to keep going on and on and on with practically the same post each day, but this sickness has literally consumed our lives! Olivia was holding her formula down, I talked to her doctor yesterday and he said to check back in with him today and let him know how she was doing etc...About 15 minutes after we hung up she threw up EVERYTHING. It was ALL over the place, all over her, me and our bed. OH IT WAS GROSS! It was the biggest throw up I've seen. I called her doctor's office back right away and the nurse told me to switch her back to pedialyte.

Her doctor called me back around 5 pm lastnight and he wants to see her in the office today. So, he told me to come in around 2. I don't know what he'll decide to do. If he wants us to go back to the hospital or what. I'll keep you posted.

Lastnight I was trying to give her pedialyte and she refused it, but she kept saying "bott". So, I would try every few minutes to give her the pedialyte and she didn't want it. I then tryed giving her formula again, and she didn't want that either. I was going to put the pedialyte in a syringe and shoot it down her mouth, but FINALLY she took 3 ounces. I have to give it to her every hour and when I tryed giving it to her an hour later she refused it. She fell asleep and woke up around midnight saying "bott". I tryed giving her the pedialyte again and she didn't want it, so I fixed her some formula. She took it. She's held it down....so far. She woke up around 6 am saying "bott" again, so I made her formula. She drank it...and she's held it down...so far.

She was more active lastnight. She was actually awake from 4:30 'til 8:30 lastnight, so that's been the longest she's been awake since Saturday. Matt was playing with her and they had a balloon from her party she was playing with. She was smiling and laughing. She did walk a few steps yesterday too, and stand on her own. I can tell she has lost weight, especially in her thighs. They look like little chicken legs. She looks so skinny.

In a way I am hoping we go back to the hospital. Only because I know they can take care of her and get her hydrated again. This has been going on for 6 days now and I don't know how much more mentally I can take. I cried a lot yesterday. I just don't know what to do. I feel alone and scared. Even though I have Matt, he is at work all day. There is not much he can do, but go to the store like I have asked him. He didn't go to UC's game lastnight. I didn't ask him not to go. He decided on his own to come home and be with us. He went to the store and brought me some soup and jello and popsicles. I am just happy he has his priorities straight!!!

3 comments:

Cheryl said...

oh you poor thing! Ryan once threw up for 3 weeks straight. he had a virus everyone got but it only lasted 3 days for everyone else. It was horrible!! i feel for you. when she says bott and won't take it maybe her tummy hurts and she doesn't know how to tell you. good for Matt!

Amy said...

You poor thing. You know you can call me anytime and I'll be over there! If you are feeling alone and want some company just call me!! I will be there whenever you want. Matt is a good dad - you are right, he does have his priorities straight!

SamandSawyersMom said...

oh my goodness. What did the doctor say? I hope she is okay. i will pray for her.