Monday, December 17, 2007

8 Shopping Days Left

I have not been out of the house since Friday afternoon!!! Who can blame me for not wanting to go out in the cold/nasty weather!!!
I went to our practice's party on Friday. It was at Maggiano's in Kenwood. As much as I LOVE Kenwood mall because it has the best stores in Cincy I HATE going there...atleast during Christmas! I drove and Maria, whom I work with, rode with me. The party started at 1 pm, we got to the mall parking lot at 12:45 pm and we circled and circled the parking lot forever! They have valet and we went to the valet area and the guys told us valet was shut down UGH! So we circled more and more. We got around to valet again and it was reopened, which it was not easy to just swing around to valet it took about 7 minutes!!! We finally got out of the car and walked into Maggiano's at 1:20!! Half an hour to find a parking spot only to pay $5 for valet plus tip! Oh well, valet was worth it since all we had to do was pull out and we were at the light to get onto the highway.
The party was nice...I didn't know half the workers since they are all new and they all work in the Cincinnati office. I only work in Kentucky, so I never see anyone! Food was good, I've had Maggiano's so it was nice to eat somewhere familiar! We had fried zucchini, calamari, chicken, and a few other things...all very good. I had Olivia with me so everyone was wanting to hold her and she still didn't feel well. She only let Missy hold her for a couple minutes then she wanted me. I really didn't want a lot of people to hold her since she was still sick so its a good thing she's so clingy to me...at times!!!
I got a really pretty snow globe for our ornament exchange. Its an ornament, but its heavy so I think I will just use it as a decoration on one of our end tables. The past few years at our party the doctors have given us really good prizes and we always had games and the past two years they gave away a trip! This year they didn't do any of that. I hate to sound unappreciative, but we all got a $25 gift card to Friday's. I don't know why they didn't do any of the giveaways, but it was kind of a let down! I am happy with the gift card, but when I'm used to something then all of a sudden it stops it kind of stinks!!
Saturday we didn't do much. We had planned on finishing our shopping, but with the weather we stayed in. Matt went to Sam's Club late in the afternoon, but it was still too cold and nasty to take Olivia out. I did a little bit of wrapping and then I ran out of paper...so while Matt was out he ran to Target too and bought more wrapping paper.
Sunday Matt worked for a few hours. He took my car so I was unable to go anywhere. I told him to take it since it has 4 wheel drive and we were unsure about the weather. When he got home I made a delicious dinner. We had pork chops with extra crispy shake 'n bake, mashed potatoes (homemade and perfect), rolls and salad. His mom is coming down next week and Matt wants me to make that same meal when she is here.
Today I am going to Walgreen's then to either Wal-Mart or Kroger to buy some things to make cookies. I need to get cookie cut outs the shape of stockings and I think Wal-Mart may have a better selection.
Have a good one!

5 comments:

Cheryl said...

I hope Olivia is feeling better. Poor little thing. Have a good time making cookies, does Olivia get to help? Hope you get your shopping done. Have a good day.

Amy said...

We didn't go out all weekend either! It was actually nice not to go anywhere and my house is very clean now!

Jamie said...

We ventured out once on Saturday for Noah's basketball practice and then alot on Sunday for church and then I did my shopping in the evening. Saturday was a little slow going, we went out in the morning, but on the way home it was fine and Sunday was completely fine except for the really cold wind. I hope Olivia is feeling much better and that dinner does sound yummy. I'm thinking pork chops for our dinner tonight!! I bet Matt's Mom will love it!! I HATE Kenwood's traffic too. It's jus the worst. And they just keep builidng more stores like the giant Nordstroms going in on the corner and yet they do nothing for the parking or traffic!! I hope somebody does something about it quick!! Well have fun making cookies, we're doing that tomorrow too!!

Crystal said...

That dinner sounds delicious! I used to love the huge parties at that place! One year, I won a family pack of season passes to Kings Island and a couple of gift certificates! Did you guys get a bonus this year??? They used to give us good bonuses too. That stinks that it's not like it used to be but I think it all depends on how much business they've had in the past year. Dr. Williams will do something nice for you, I'm sure!

SamandSawyersMom said...

Oh I would have been bummed. I love free stuff and Ifind myself easily disappointed int hose senerios too.

Glad olivia is doing well.

I never wanted people holding my babies at all, sick or not and I got SO much crap about it.