Tuesday, October 2, 2007

Fun Day At The Doctor

I had to go to my ob/gyn today for my yearly check up. I was due in June, but I had just seen him in April for my 6 week post partum check up. So, he told me then to come back in within 6 months. I had to bring Olivia with me and I have been worried for a few days on how she would be. I thought I would have to bring her into the exam room and let her crawl around and was worried she would want me to hold her. NOPE! His nurse, Kate, took her while I weighed in and used the bathroom. She took me into the exam room and took Olivia for me. She had quite the fun time. After my exam Kate said she was going thru files with her and helped her draw blood and do all kinds of things! I didn't hear a peep out of her the entire time. She did so well. I told Dr. Draznik that Olivia must have been enjoying herself since she wasn't making a sound and he said "oh yeah, she is quite content" I think she was happy it wasn't her who had the doctor's appointment for a change!

When he was finished I got dressed and Kate brought her in to me. She was all smiles. It was so cute. Dr. Draznik and I discussed when I wanted to have another baby and he thinks 2 1/2 to 3 years apart is perfect. He told me to call the office and they would get me on prenatal vitamins again for a month or so before we started trying. I'll most likely see him again before that happens, but I wanted to have all my ducks in a row just to be on the safe side!! I always go back and forth if I want to try for another one sometime next year or wait until the end of the next and closer to her 2nd birthday. I guess its in God's hands and whatever happens happens, but its nice to have a plan.
He is a great doctor. I really like him. He's so personable and was asking me how Matt's AAU basketball coaching was going. Little things like that he remembers makes me feel so much more content and confident with him. Since I work with his girlfriend, Missy he said he would make sure she keeps him up to date with the things Olivia is doing. He thinks she is quite the cutie, but who doesn't!!

7 comments:

Jamie said...

That's great that you have such a great relationship with your doc. I just changed because I wasn't feeling comfortable with mine at all and the new one is great so far! I came in with a few minor problems and she ordered every test immediately and calmed any worry I had. She was great. I knew instantly I had made the right choice. It really does help to have someone you trust, otherwise you may not be as open as you should with problems you have and something could be missed. And of course everone loved Olivia, how could you resisit her!!!!

Crystal said...

Yuck, I hate going to the gyno! That was nice of the nurse to watch Olivia for you.

Char said...

Know what? I had my ob/gyn appointment today too!! haha!
I'm glad you like your doctor. That is very important!!

SamandSawyersMom said...

I never find a doctor i like...ever. I know this will be a very controversial statement but I think a lot (not all) doctors are not nice to very overweight people.

I read your post and felt so jealous that I never got half that attention. I am not screaming discrimination here, I am just saying that I have NEVER gotten treatment like that.

My kids doctor is THAT good and calls us at homelike she is friends with us. She even gave me her cell phone number once. She is amazing. She always calls me her favorite mom because I listen to her directions and stuff. I am not used to being the pet so it is nice.

Olivia is adorable but ti never gets old heairng it does it??

I have to get my yearly..it is sooo late and I am having several bad issues but i am scared to death to go.

Cheryl said...

I am glad it went well. She is adorable!!

kellerie said...

sounds like you have great doctor.

Amy said...

that was nice of them to take her for you. I think Dr. Draznik is awesome. I think he is a rarity among doctors, actually - he is so much nicer than my old doctor and I'm very glad I switched to him.