Sunday, August 19, 2007

Picnic At Kings Island

Yesterday was my company picnic at Kings Island. It was a lot of fun, but very stressful getting there. Food was served from 11:30-1 pm in the picnic grove. We left our house around 11:15, but I had to stop at Remke and get some sunscreen for Olivia. So, after searching and searching for sunscreen I finally found some, but I couldn't believe the price! $10.00 for a tube of sunscreen! I was thinking it would be around $5 or $6. So, after getting the sunscreen we headed to K.I. We got off the exit at 12:05, which we should have had plenty of time to park, get our things and go straight to the picnic grove. NOPE! Not that easy! Apparently Kings Island hires morons to take money for parking. We literally sat in a line for 30 minutes just to give them our parking pass stub. So, by time we parked, got the stroller, got our things we headed into the park. Of course, why wouldn't we have to go thru security (I forgot about that, they don't have security thing a ma bobs at Cedar Point) Apparently Kings Island hires FBI agents to go thru diaper bags and strollers. The guy was so slow, it was 12:50 and we were still waiting in line so the guy could see we don't attach bombs to our stroller with our baby in it.

We sprinted to the picnic grove (and got lost on our way there) we couldn't quite remember how to get back there. We got there at 1:05, we had to stand in another line to give our food voucher ticket and the man taking our ticket had to lecture us saying "You better hurry, you don't have much time, they will be putting the food away in a minute" I said to Matt, well if he would stop talking we could get there and eat! We got there and luckily there was still plenty of food. There was still quite a few people from work there too. Of course they all wanted to see Olivia so it made it hard for me to eat right away and I was pretty hungry after all the running we just did! We had plenty of time to eat and chat with some people from my work. After we were finished eating I felt like we could relax.

Obviously we can't ride anything, but I am ok with that. It was crowded, but not terribly crowded for as nice as it was yesterday. We walked around for a few hours, rode the train, ran into a couple people from work, chatted with them, got a couple cokes (we had unlimited drink passes!) we sat underneath the Eiffel Tower for a little while and I hate to say this, but this creepy little girl came up to the stroller and just stared at us and Olivia. I normally don't have a problem with little kids doing that, because they love babies. But her dad came over and just stared at us too. It was really strange. So, I asked her what her name was and he said it (it was an odd name and I don't remember it) and I tryed to talk a little bit, but either one of them was unresponsive, it was really weird and creepy! They finally walked away after about 5 minutes of awkwardness and we headed for home. We left around 4:15 and we stopped at UDF and got ice cream (YUM) I got a Heath Bar Flurry and Matt got a Strawberry Smoothie.

By time we got home we were beat all the walking around (especially for me in my sandals) made us all kind of tired. But, we decided since it was such a nice evening we walked down to the park that is in our neighborhood. Its still being built, but there is a huge field and there are bathrooms that are being built now. Its a pretty long walk, I'd say atleast a mile. We took Huckleberry with us and he was very slow walking back home! I have blisters on my feet, oh what I would do for a pedicure, or a foot massage!

When we got home I gave Olivia a bath, fed her and watched "Win a Date with Tad Hamilton" I love that movie! I mostly like it so I can watch Josh Duhamel (SO CUTE!)...and Matt knows that so he let me watch it and he went upstairs and played on the internet.

5 comments:

Crystal said...

Oh cool! TPSG had their picnic at KI again this year!!! Did you see my Jenny Pie?? She called me the other day and I haven't returned her call yet cause I have been busy. I will call her this week. How is everyone? How's Julie? Did Stephanie A. have her baby? How's she doing with it?? Fill me in please!!! ha ha ha

Glad you had a nice day yesterday. I know it's annoying when security checks our bags and stuff but it is for our safety and I try to remember that when I get annoyed with it!

Hey, they have a separate entrance for people who have parking passes. You shouldn't have had to wait in that long line!

Carrie said...

Yeah Crystal, I saw Jenny, she had her sister Alicia w/her. She is doing good.

Julie is in Florida, so she wasn't there. Stephanie Asbury did have her baby, she wasn't there, I have not seen him. He is 3 months old. I guess she's doing ok w/being a mom, but I don't think she has that true mom mentality (from what I hear) I guess during her maternity leave she brought him in and he was sleeping in his carseat and she just plopped him down and he jolted awake. I guess she goes out a lot too, but so do other mom's that I know that work at TPSG, but I won't mention any names, but it begins with an A and ends in a Y!

SamandSawyersMom said...

Amy, Arnay nay?

AAww, sounds like a great day. I like KI a lot and my kids seems to like it at any age really. Just being outside is nice.

Your poor feet...Sm. They must be in so much pain! Mine have never seen a pedi and soem how they have survived..SM.

You crack me up wiht your creepy girl story.

Cheryl said...

I'm glad you made it for the food. Poor tired Huck had to walk a long way. He is so cute. Hope your toosties feel better.

kellerie said...

that's so weird that they have such tight security. cedar point and geauga lake don't check a thing!