Tuesday, March 27, 2007
Frightening Day
I had a horrifying day today...Olivia was sound asleep so I thought it would be a good time for me to get a shower, so I put her in her swing and buckled her in it. I hurried and got in the shower and as I was washing my hair I could hear her crying, so I hurried and washed the soap out of my hair and got out of the shower. As I was walking out of the bathroom I heard a thud and my heart dropped into the pit of my stomach. It was one of my worst fears coming true, she fell out of her swing. Her face was down on the carpet so I ran to her (dropped my towel in the process!) and picked her up and I started to cry and panic at the same time. I didn't know what to do. I thought about calling 911 because I knew I was too hysterical to drive her to the hospital. She was crying for a few minutes and she calmed down after I consoled her. I tryed calling Matt on his cell phone, but it was turned off since he was at work. God must have spoke to him because literally as I hung up the phone from calling him he called me. I was still crying and told him to come home so we could take her to the doctor. Matt works only 10 minutes away and it was the longest ten minutes ever!! I called her pediatrician and spoke to a nurse and she asked me if she was moving her arms and legs and acting ok, which she was so I didn't have to rush her to the emergency room. We took her to the doctor and he checked her over really good and he said she is ok. I want to throw her swing away, I am terrified of putting her in it again. I haven't been able to put her down all day I just want to hold her and kiss her and tell her how much I love her. I feel so guilty for putting her in her swing and leaving her unattended. I even thought to myself before I put her in it to lay her in her bassinet, since she was sleeping I thought she would be ok for a few minutes. Guess it was a hard lesson for me to learn, but she wiggled her way out of it even though I strapped her in. I think she handled the situation a lot better than I did.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
12 comments:
HOLY CRAP!!! I would have totally freaked out!!! She's so tiny! Wow! And to think Shawn used to make fun of me for putting pillows underneath Dawson's swing because I was always afraid of him falling out........everyone teased me for it! Oh Carebear, I am so sorry that happened! I know you would never do anything that would hurt lil O, it was an accident so don't beat yourself up, we do that enough as mommy's! I love you!
I'm so happy that she's okay. Give her kisses for me!
Oh my gosh. I am so imprtessed that you took her to the doctor even though she stopped crying. Most moms would not have. Carrie, things like this happen to all of us. It is horrible but you learned form it and that is always the point. Ah, give her a little kiss for me too. I always hold my kids so close when something bad happens too. Just another reason to thank God for her!
You did all the right things.
I am a super safety nut and I have taken a thousand showers with my baby in the swing...fluke accident.
Oh my Goodness I would have died. I am so glad she is okay. You did good!! Your Mommy instincts kicked in and you did everything right. Something like that happens to everyone, now your one thing is over. You can breathe easy now.
Pictures please!
glad shes ok. can you imagine calling 911 and you forgeting to throw some clothes on cuz you were so hysterical. imagine that.
i do know your pain though. connor stuck his hand in the van door as it was automatically shutting last year and i thought for sure his fingers were broken and i was crying too. it happened so fast and i couldn't stop it. but he was ok. i did take him to the doctor too.
aren't those doors susposed to stop..i smell a lawsuit..ha
Pictures Please!
CAREBEAR, WHERE ARE YOU!!!???
You need to post before you go out of town this weekend!
POST POST POST! WE ALL SCREAM FOR POST!
Post a Comment