Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Baby Sprinkle & A Dramatic Saturday


Saturday was my Baby Sprinkle at Hoffbrauhaus.  It was a very nice time and I am so thankful for my friends and family.  I really was not expecting to do anything special or have a shower, but after my sister asked if I did want to do something, I am so happy we did.  I wasn't planning on bringing Olivia with me, but my mom talked me into it and it was awful.  Little did I know she wasn't feeling well, but I will get to that in a minute.  When we first got there Olivia sat next to Avery, but after a few minutes she became very grouchy and irritable.  She wanted to sit next to me and she whined and cried the entire time.  I could barely enjoy myself because Olivia was being so bad.  She is always very well behaved and even tempered, but Saturday she was not herself at all.  She had to go potty and even that was an ordeal.  Washing her hands she kept complaining about the water, it was horrible.  I really didn't want to deal with tantrums when I was trying to enjoy myself.  Plus it was hard trying to talk to everyone when Olivia was demanding so much attention from me. 

We ordered our food and I always get the pretzel sandwich which has ham and cheese on a pretzel bun.  I was enjoying my sandwich when I looked down and saw a very long, nasty hair in my sandwich.  I told our waitress and she took my plate and said she would take it off the bill...but she never came back with another sandwich!  I should have said something, but I was too preoccupied to care about it at that point.

My mom brought a very good cake and Olivia opened all the presents for me...that seemed to put her in a better mood...especially since almost everyone brought her a gift as well.  Even though she didn't deserve any of them Saturday!  Stella got some very cute clothes, diapers, wipes, pacifiers, bibs, and a couple of books.  Olivia got some clothes, a gift card to Target (her favorite store), and a couple of books.  She made out just as well as her baby sister!

Overall it was a very nice time....when we left Olivia was starting to whine a lot again.  She was crying over every little thing and at first I thought she was jealous because of all the things her sister was getting, but with all the things she got too, it didn't make sense.  She fell asleep in the car and went right back to sleep when we got in the house. She stayed asleep for 3 hours.  I thought that is exactly what she needed, a nice long nap, especially since we had a very busy week.

Saturday night Matt had a bunch of his friends over for a UFC pay per view.  I wanted to leave the house while his friends arrived and got settled downstairs, so my mom came over and her, myself, and Olivia went to Hoggy's for dinner.  Olivia seemed to be in a much better mood after her nap.  We ordered our food, it came to the table, I offered Olivia a bite of mac 'n cheese, she looked at it and threw up all over her seat.  She got puke all over herself and me.  I told our waiter we needed to have our food boxed and we would take it to go.  She seemed a whole lot better after she puked, but I didn't want to keep her out just in case she got sick again.  We went home and I ate when we got home.  Matt or his friends didn't care we were there, but I just wanted to stay out of their hair for awhile.  Matt grilled out and Olivia got her appetite back.  She was back to herself by Sunday....she had a little bit of diarrhea as well, but it didn't last long.  I texted my sister to tell her she was sick since her, Avery and Gavin were around eachother all day Thursday....come to find out Avery started getting sick as well.  Whatever it was, they obviously passed it to one another.

So...I felt really bad for being so irritated with Olivia at my sprinkle, but I didn't realize she was starting to feel bad.

1 comment:

Amy said...

The sprinkle was fun. I'm glad we did it. Avery was sick from Saturday afternoon through Monday! Olivia lucked out that hers didn't last as long - it sucked!!! Glad they are all better now, just in time to party this weekend :) Wait until you see Avery's room - I'm finally redoing it (no paint yet, though).