I don't know where to begin with this post, so I apologize that it may be sporatic at times....I guess first thing is my pregnancy. I am feeling good, however when I sit for long periods I feel like an 80 year old lady. I don't know if it's from the baby sitting low or what, but I have this pain in my lower right side on my pelvic bone that HURTS! I literally waddle around because it hurts to walk a lot. I feel pretty good when I wake up in the morning, but as the day goes on WHOOO WEEE! It is hard to move. I remember feeling somewhat like this with Olivia, but not this bad. The baby is very active and I get more rolls and stretches than kicks these days. I feel her elbows and knees sticking out on my sides and she has kicked underneath my ribs a few times which makes it a little hard to breathe. She is very active in the middle of the night too. Which is not a good sign! Since she now has regular times of sleep, awake and restful awake times I am afraid she will be a night owl when she is born. We bought a bassinet a couple of weeks ago...it's still in the box, but I can't wait to put it together. We're having new carpet installed upstairs next week and once the new carpet is in I am going to set up her room. We're still waiting on Olivia's new furniture to come in, but it's supposed to be in sometime next week. I am starting to get things ready for my hospital bag too. I still have 7 weeks, but I am someone who always needs to be doing SOMETHING. I feel like I am wasting time if I am not doing things that I know need to be done. I see my doctor again on Friday :)
Our basement is 99% finished. We had the carpet installed on Monday. It is soooooo nice to go downstairs and walk on nice, plush carpet. The past couple of days I have been dusting things and cleaning. Matt's friend is coming over tomorrow to move our furniture into the family room. We are also moving our computer downstairs...which right now is in the baby's room, so I will feel so relieved once it is moved downstairs. I've been hanging wall art and pictures as I can. My dad still needs to put transition strips down which will go around the bar and then it will be done...completely! He said he will do that this weekend. I need to find curtains and blinds for the window down there and I need to find curtains for the sliding glass doors. Hopefully I will find some things I need this weekend.
Saturday we are taking Olivia to her sibling preparation class. I am excited. I will deliver at The Christ Hosptial again, so it will be nice to go there and refresh my memory on where things are. We will also tour the L&D department and see the nursery. It's a 2 hour class, so I hope we take away some things that will help us ease her into this whole new world we are going to have. We told Olivia that her baby sister will bring her a present when she is born, so now everytime we're out somewhere she will find something she likes and will say "Maybe my baby sister can buy that for me"....the girl knows how to work the system. I am trying to think of creative things we can do for Olivia and the baby at the hosptial. I want Olivia to feel special and loved and not replaced when she is born...that's my biggest fear right now. So, if anyone has suggestions what we could do when Olivia comes to the hospital for the first time I would love to read what suggestions you may have. I do know I want to buy her the "I'm a Big Sister" t-shirt and I want to buy the baby one that says "Little Sister".
Oh and Wyatt....Wyatt, Wyatt, Wyatt. We gave him to his new family a little over a week ago. We were supposed to be in Indianapolis last weekend and my mom was going to be here for the the new family to pick him up. Well, we were literally walking out the door and getting buckled in the car when our friends called to tell us their son was sick. He is in a daycare and a couple of the kids had a stomach virus. They said their son had a fever, and that is how the other kids virus started and then they got vomiting and diarrhea. So, we didn't want to risk going there and exposing Olivia and ourselves to a potential virus. We were bummed about it, but it did give us another day to spend with Wyatt. My mom still came over when the family picked him up. We went to Newport on the Levee for the afternoon. It would have been way to hard on me to see him go. I cried while I got his toys, food, and dish bowl together. I cried when I got his medical records together. I cried when I told him goodbye. My mom called me (just as we were getting ready to eat dinner) to let us know he was gone. I was ordering my food and I could barely tell our waitress what I wanted. I lost my appetite and I didn't feel like to talking to anyone. When we got home that evening the house was so quiet with having only Huckleberry there. I cried as we walked into the door....I cried, cried, cried, cried, cried. I can't believe how much I have cried over him. After all the bad things he has done, I only remember the good things about him. Olivia has been great with the whole thing. She only said once that she missed him, but she has been giving Huck a whole lot more attention these days. She's been the one to comfort me when I get sad. I am doing a lot better now. It's been 10 days and I feel like we did the right thing now. I still miss him, but it's definitely a lot easier with only one dog. I did speak with his new family last week and they said he has been good. He didn't eat for a day or two, but he quickly got over it. Huck didn't eat either, so I think it's normal for them to grieve eachother. We plan on visiting him soon. I want to see him before the baby arrives because I don't know when we will get the chance afterwards.
That's about it for now! I hope everyone has a great week!
4 comments:
Yay! A nice long post!!
Sorry for the pregnancy discomfort. We always joked how I walked like our bow legged gym teacher when I was pregnant with the trio. I remember the hip and back pain - OUCH! I feel so bad that you have to go through that, but it is for a wonderful reason!
I can't wait to see pics of Olivia's room and the baby's room. I love your decorating style so I am sure it is beautiful! Oh, and the basement! I can't wait to see pics of it all done too!!
Gabe did the sibling prep class here and enjoyed it. He got to make a special sign to hang in the babies bassinets at the hospital, decorate a onesie with sharpie markers, and tour everything. He felt so special doing all that. I think having the baby bring Olivia a present is a great idea. She really does know how to work it, doesn't she?!
I think giving Wyatt to another family was such a smart and brave decision. As much as you miss him now and are sad about it, imagine how you would have felt had something happened to Olivia or the baby. You did what was best. :) I hope that came out like I intended.
Have a great week! You haven't posted a belly pic lately!!
you did the right thing for Wyatt he will do better and so will you guys! It is very normal for them to grieve for each other.
Hope your body feels better! It is all worth it in the end, but while we are going through it it sucks.
I delivered at Christ too and loved it. We saw kids going to the preparation class, it was so cute! I hope Olivia does well.
What a great post! I am glad you made the decision you did about Wyatt..bless your heart for taking it so hard. I feel bad that you struggled so much.
Glad to hear about your basement.
oh and sorry about the pain..if you took that much time to bold and slant it..you were feeling some pain my friend.
Post a Comment