Wednesday, November 4, 2009

The Pukes

I know talking about puking is not a nice subject, but I want this documented because it is something that relates to my pregnancy.  I have had nausea A LOT.  Gagging when I start to feel too hungry...if I let it go on too long it gets progressively worse until its hard for me to even think about eating without gagging.  So, keeping on top of it can be challenging at times.  I will eat at noon and I will be hungry again at 1:30 or 2. I feel like I have to eat ALL THE TIME and a lot of times the food I have in my house doesn't appeal to me.  I will think of something I want to eat, that appeals to me without feeling sick and I HAVE to have whatever it is THEN!  For example last Wednesday I was craving chicken wings from Knuck 'n Futz (a little hole in the wall down the street from our house) they have the BEST wings EVER!  So, Matt ordered me 10 mild sweet bbq wings and an order of potato wedges with cheese.  Not the best thing to eat, but its what I wanted.  Normal me (not pregnant) would be able to eat 4 maybe 5 wings and a couple potato wedges...pregnant me ate all 10 wings and the majority of the potato wedges.  I let Olivia eat some of the wedges too, but I could have ate them all!!!  We ate this around 5 pm and I was hungry again at 8!  My goodness me.

One bad thing is I have not been able to sleep well at night.  I toss and turn almost all night and then I usually wake up sometime to pee or I am wide awake.  When I am awake I start to get hungry and before I know it I am starving in the middle of the night.  I hate eating at 2 am!  Well, on Saturday morning (at 2:15 am) I got up to get something to eat.  I grabbed a pudding and a jello.  I went back into my bedroom to eat it, but as I was opening the pudding I felt it.  Yes, the pukes got the best of  me.  I ran into the bathroom and let it all out.  Luckily all of my food from dinner had been digested and it was stomach junk, but it wasn't much fun.  I crawled into bed and slowly ate my pudding and jello.  Lastnight the same thing happened. It was around 4:30 this morning.  I woke up, I didn't feel real hungry, but I started gagging.  I felt it about to happen. Sure enough, I puked again and this time it was more stomach bile than Saturday morning.  Gross, I know.  I eventually fell back to sleep, but when I woke up at 7 I still felt sick.  I ate some dry cereal right away and it made me feel a little better, but still a little nauseated.  As awful as puking is, I am always grateful when I do puke because I feel that is God's way of telling me the baby is healthy and things are going the way they should.

6 comments:

kellerie said...

I found that the best way to avoid the pukes, as much as possible, is just to eat little snacks all day long. it's weird, but I never got nausea if there was something in my stomach.

good luck!

Amy said...

Yes - keeping something in your stomach is the best way to keep the puking and nausea at bay. Just keep crackers with you at all times!

Char said...

Aw man! I'm sorry you are getting sick. Crackers are a pregnant girls best friend! Hang in there and try and enjoy the awesome miracle of that baby!

Amanda said...

Sorry for the pukes! That stinks that they come at that time too! I agree with the snacking. I liked graham crackers more than saltines.
I hope this is gone with the first trimester!
The wings sound yummy!

Cheryl said...

This is going to sound strange but keep a lemon by your bed. As soon as you get up smell it, it takes the nausea away immediately. Any citrus will work but I found lemons to work the best!

SamandSawyersMom said...

I had the same problem..i couln'dt get hungry or I would get very sick. I had to munch on crackers all day. Sweetie, I hope you feel better soon. I know it is worth it but it still sucks. Love you!!!!