Monday, September 14, 2009

DRAMA

Ever since we got Wyatt I decided I want a fence. Two dogs is a lot different than one dog. Huck is almost 7 years old, he's trained and we usually can leave him outside without a leash. There has been a couple times where he has chased after a cat, but for the most part he has done real well. Wyatt on the other hand is a handful. It's mostly because he is a puppy. He's curious and having beagle and lab he is just wild. The two of them together outside without any type of restraint or leash can be a nightmare. They both have ran down to the bottom of our hill in our backyard sniffing things out and it's been a little chaotic when that happens and I have to carry Olivia, pick up Wyatt, and pull Huck by his collar. That is why we NEED a fence. In the meantime we have got a stake with two leads on it and it allows them to walk around up to 30 feet. It's nice to have the option of putting them both on it and coming inside rather than waiting on them. We have had two estimates for a fence. One is for $1794.00 the other is for $3150.00...yeah, the second guy I think might be trying to rip us off! ANYWAYS....

On Friday night we were out to dinner. We took my dad out for his birthday and when we came home the garage door was open, we walked into the house and Huckleberry walked out. We let Wyatt out of the laundry room and he followed Huck. I didn't think anything of it because I was going to put them on their leads. Before I was able to get them hooked up they saw a woman walking her dog. She was walking her dog on the gravel driveway at the bottom of our backyard. Our backyard runs into a gravel driveway that belongs to the horsefarm owners. The woman walking her dog does not own the horsefarm. There is a split rail fence that my dogs ran underneath. Obviously looking at Wyatt you can tell he is a puppy, he's not going to hurt you. Huckleberry was wagging his tail and tried to play with her dog. The woman saw me and she could see I was rounding up my dogs and instead of her stopping so I could get my dogs she started whipping them with a long whip like thing. She was walking away and whipping them. Hitting them so hard Wyatt yelped. I yelled at the woman telling her to stop hitting my dogs. She yelled something back (I was so fired up I don't remember everything that was said) and I told her she had no right hitting my dogs. We yelled at eachother for a couple minutes and then Matt came out and started in on her too. Both my dogs were inside at this point. Finally I told the lady to be quiet and go home. It was ugly. I have never been so angry in my life.

I was starting to calm down, but then I heard my dad say to someone "Who the hell are you" and then he said "I don't live here". So I walked back over to where the woman had been. Her husband came out to start something with us. I walked over and asked him what he wanted and he said "Are you the person who yelled at my wife" I said yes I was, but she was hitting my dogs. He said I had no right to yell at his wife because she was defending herself. I started yelling at him telling him she had no right to hit my dogs. I said obviously you can see we have a puppy and our bassett hound was wagging his tail trying to play with your dog. He said we should have had them restrained. I told him that we walked into the house and they ran out before I could restrain them. Then Matt came back out and started yelling at the husband. The husband said "How was she to know if your dogs have rabies or not" and Matt said "PLEASE, what dog has rabies"? He then said "So if your wife sees a bird or a squirrel or any other type of wild life is she going to start hitting them because they 'might' have rabies" and the husband said "Yeah" and Matt said "Well she apparently has issues then" and then I shouted out "She better watch out for those horses she walks by everyday then" Then the husband said "We have lived here 13 years, you guys are newcomers here and are starting trouble" Matt then said "We are not newcomers, we have lived here for 3 years and this is the first time anything like this has happened". He then said "I don't care if you have lived her 45 years, it doesn't give your wife the right to hit my dogs" The husband then threatened if that happens again he will call the police. I told him if she dares to raise a hand at either one of my dogs ever again I will call the police on her. I walked away at that point because I was so upset and angry. The husband and Matt screamed at eachother for a few more minutes, I don't know what they said but Matt eventually came inside the house.

I know we were the ones at fault with the dogs getting out on us. I was more than willing to apologize to the woman and explain to her what happened and I would have told her we are looking into fencing in our yard so they won't run out. But when I saw her hitting them with such force to make Wyatt yelp I lost all respect for her and I didn't care what I said to her. I know if the police were called we would have been the ones who were fined, but again she hit my dogs. I could understand if the dogs were vicious like a pit bull with drool coming down there mouths, but seriously...a puppy? And Huck is the most gentle dog anyone will ever come across. They weren't even barking, her dog was the one barking. I felt terrible the rest of the night and the next morning. I never lose control like that. I guess when it comes to something or someone I care about my claws come out. Matt asked what I would do if she did something to Olivia. I told him he would be visiting me in jail because I would have knocked her down and dragged her along the gravel driveway!!

The next day my parents came back over, so my dad could work in the basement and we went to the UC game, so my mom watched Olivia for us Saturday afternoon and evening. When my parents walked in our house my dad said he was scared of me! Just teasing, of course. My mom said maybe from all the frustrations I have had with the two dogs and housebreaking Wyatt that I just took out all of my frustration on the woman. She is probably right!

4 comments:

Cheryl said...

I would have gone off on her too. There is no reason to hit them!! Seriously. If the property isn't hers she shouldn't have been walking back there to make your dogs run off.I would have been livid!!

Amy said...

Regardless of if the dogs get out or not - she shouldn't have hit them! I would have yelled too. Like you said, it would be a little different if they weren't so obviously friendly and small, but she took it way too far.

Amanda said...

I couldn't believe this when I read it. Wow! That lady had some nerve. She was way wrong. I think you were within your rights to get angry with her. I did just reading this!!!

SamandSawyersMom said...

Oh my Carrie. I would have lost it. I can totally see her putting her hand up or trying to push them away if she was scared. I mean just because we may not have been scared or Huck is a puppy doesn't mean she wasn't scared. The thing that would have sent me over the edge was her nerve to strike them with a leash and more than once! She should have apoligized not sent her husband out. God help me if that would have been me. Good job on not taking the leash around her neck! I am thinking this will not be the last you hear from these neighbors.