I have been busy planning Olivia's 2nd birthday party. We have decided to keep it small this year. Matt really wanted to have a lot of our friends, but I really want to keep it small, so that is what we are doing. I have planned out the food and drinks. I still need to order her cake and get my grocery list of food items ready, but I still have time.
When we ask Olivia how old she will be she says "I be old in 2 months" or she will say "I be 2 months". She is very excited for her birthday. She has picked out a My Little Pony that she wants. She keeps talking about it too, so I know she really wants it!
She is completely potty trained. I am so happy. She decided one day she wanted to do it. She has had a couple accidents, but other than that has done great. I don't have to remind her either, she goes all on her own. The only obstacle we have is when we are out in public. She doesn't like using public restrooms (which I am not a fan of them either) but when you are just under 2 years old...when you gotta go you gotta go! She also refuses to wear a pull up or regular diaper when we are out. So far she has done great when we are out in public. She will hold it until we get home. She says "Big potty scare you" meaning it really scares her!
We are also working on breaking her of her bottle. I am embarassed to talk about it, but its a fact. She still drinks out of her bottle. She won't even hold it! I have to hold it for her. She knows how and uses a sippy cup or regular cup or a straw perfectly, but she LOVES her bottle. I made a chart for her and we have told her whenever she drinks her milk out of a big girl cup rather than a bottle she will get a sticker. So far we haven't had much luck...any suggestions???? I'd rather not take them away from her cold turkey or "trick" her in anyway because she understands it all way too well. If it comes down to it, I will just tell her we have no more bottles, but I'd rather leave that as a last resort.
8 comments:
YAY for potty training!! That is great. AS far as the bottle goes, I had to break Ryan of his pacifier at the same age. Reasoning didn't seem to work, unfortunately neither did bribery which usually works well. We just had to take it away. He hated it, we had a horrible time getting him to sleep. Unfortunately it was the only way!
I think you are just going to have to take the bottle away cold turkey. That's what we finally had to do with Gavin. None of the other stuff worked with him either. Just tell her that they are all gone. She will be upset for a few days but she'll get over it.
We are looking forward to Olivia's party!!!
YAY LIL O FOR BEING A BIG GIRL ON THE POTTY!!!!
Unfortunately, the only way to break her from the bottle is to take it away cold turkey. I saw on Supernanny that she had the kids put their bottles in treasure chest for the bottle fairy to pick up and then the fairy left the kids big kid presents, new cups and stuff.......it seemed to work for them and they were excited about the fairy and the gifts she left than to worry much about the bottles anymore! I thought it was a cool idea! Let her put the bottles in the chest herself, that way she is a part of the process and it will be less traumatic.
She may be fussy or upset for a day or two after her bottles are gone, but as long as you stick to your guns, she will get over it just fine. Good luck and let us know how it goes
whew..hard one. I will be back to respond..so busy with lunch and school
Ya know I am surprised that the chart didn't work for her since she is so smart.
Yeah I wish I had a suggestion other than cold turkey but it is usually the sure fire way to make it happen.
I agree that cold turkey will probably be the best way to do it. I like the treasure chest idea that Crys said.
I am so proud of Olivia and her pottying!! I hate public potties and so does Caitlin. She will hold it and always has ever since she had an automatic one flush on her while she was still tinkling.
Love the music on your page!!!
we had to use the "binky fairy" to wean tanis off the pacificer. we told him he could leave his pacifier on the window, and the fairy would come take it away and leave him a present. We left it up to him when he wanted to leave one (he had about 7). I would ask him if he thought today was a good day, but we let him decide. At first it was very emotional for him, but by the time we got rid of about 4, he just kind of forgot about them.
Post a Comment