Monday, December 29, 2008

Our Christmas

We had a nice Christmas. Olivia got a lot of nice things from Santa and my parents. Christmas Eve Matt got off work early, so I was able to get my haircut before the holidays. Later on we went to the mall and I picked out new curtains Matt is going to buy me. We ate dinner at Steak 'n Shake. It was about the only place still open at 5:30. We sat down and it was us and maybe 2 other tables, but by 5:50 the place was PACKED! They were closing at 6! Our waitress wasn't good. We waited 20 minutes to order a dessert. Needless to say the workers weren't getting out of there until atleast 7 that night.

Olivia slept in until 8:30 on Christmas morning. When we asked her if she wanted Santa to bring her toys she would say no. She is terrified of the man! So, we told her that Rudolph was going to be on our roof and she liked that idea. When she woke up I told her that Santa had been to our house and left her a bunch of toys, she didn't want to go into the living room! I carried her out there and when she saw all the presents she said "WOW!" Then she said "Rudolph on roof" She understands the concept, but is trying to figure out why this big man has to come into her house!
She really got into opening her gifts. She wanted to open up everything before she unwrapped another gift, so it took a little persuasion to keep going.

We went to my sister's Christmas afternoon. Avery and Gavin opened up all of their presents while Olivia was still unwrapping her second gift from my parents! Again, she wanted to open up everything before she moved on to the next gift to unwrap. We let her take her time at my sister's since we weren't in any hurry.

Matt got me a gift card to Victoria's Secret, a Bearcats shirt that I've been wanting and I am going to order new curtains for our bedroom. He got his Bearcats jacket that he's been waiting on and is happy with it. We had a really nice Christmas, but sadly there has been a tragedy as well. Matt's brother went through a nasty divorce a little over a year ago and he's been dating a girl named Cindy for a little over a year. Cindy is so nice and loves Olivia. Well, Friday evening she was in a car accident. She is in a coma now. We still don't know if the coma is from the accident or if it was induced. She has a brain anuerysm and it burst, I guess while driving. We still don't have all the details, but this is what I know. She talked to Bruce (Matt's brother) over the phone around 7 pm on Friday. Bruce said when he talked to her she was talking jibberous and was not making any sense at all. When he got home her cell phone was on the floor opened and her car was gone. The dog was still outside too, something she would never do. Bruce got a call from the hospital explaining what happened. When she wrecked her car she was on a road that is not well traveled. She went down into an embankment, but the airbags never deployed. Someone driving by called 911 because they saw smoke coming from the car. When the paramedics got to the scene her blood pressure had almost bottomed out. They said if it had been a few more minutes she would have died. She was unresponsive for 2 1/2 hours. When she got to the ER doctors drilled a hole in her head to release the pressure, and found tumors all over her brain. We won't know if the tumors are benign or malignant for 10 days. They also said the anuerysm is slow bleeding, which is a good thing.

She is in ICU and only allowed 2 people in at a time for 10 minute increments. They are going to slowly start bringing her out of the coma (I think it was an induced coma, but Matt's mom is unsure.) It's a lot of waiting right now. She also has no insurance. She lost her job 6 weeks ago and is uninsured. So, my mother in law and Bruce are going to look into what they can do to get money. It is so sad. Since we are 3 hours away there is not much we can do. I suggested to Matt that we should go up there to atleast support his brother, but he said no. I can only suggest it. If you could please keep Cindy and Bruce in your prayers, it would be appreciated.

3 comments:

Cheryl said...

OH how sad! I will pray for her.

I am glad Olivia had a good Christmas. Ryan always wanted everything open before he moved on at that age too.

Anonymous said...

Aww too bad. i will pray too.

Glad it was a good Christmas.

Crystal said...

wow, that is awful!! I am so sorry! They will be in my prayers........wow! If they collect donations, let me know!

I am so glad Lil O got to enjoy Christmas this year and I love that she took her time opening everything, that's so cute!!!! Lets see the new do!