Friday, December 12, 2008

Happy Holidays

Amazingly this year we haven't been crazy busy with Christmas parties. We usually host a dinner party with our friends this time of year, but we aren't doing it this year. We wanted to, but with our basement still not finished we want to wait until next year. We have things going on, but luckily its nothing we are obligated to do!

We got tickets to the Orange Bowl!!!!! Unfortunately we won't be able to go. Matt has to work January 2nd and since the game is on the 1st at 8 pm it would be impossible. We would have to drive because I am not allowed to fly until the fluid in my eyes is gone. Flying can cause the pressure in my eyes to change which could be bad for me right now. So, driving 17 hours to Miami, FL in the winter with the possiblity of running into bad weather just does not sound appealing to me. A lot of our friends are going, which makes it even harder not to go. But there are a few who aren't going too, so Matt and I are thinking of putting together the "Loser Bowl". For all of us of our friends who can't go. I said that maybe we should call it the "Burgan Bowl".
Loser Bowl just doesn't sound very nice!

Matt is playing in a basketball league and Olivia and I went to watch him tonight. He plays at UC's fieldhouse, which is on campus. Olivia was so cute. She got sooo excited when she saw Matt running down the court with the ball. She started waving her hands in the air and screamed "Go DaDa" I asked Matt if he heard her, but he didn't. He said he saw her cheering though! Afterwards we went to DuBois bookstore and on our way there we saw Coach Kelly!!! If you are unfamiliar with who he is, he is the head coach for the Bearcats football team. He walked right passed us. He was talking to someone, but I wish I would have thought to ask him for his autograph. Especially since no one was around.

This weekend we are taking Olivia downtown to see Santa! She actually said to me today "Mommy, me Santa Claus lap" I asked her "You want to sit on Santa Claus' lap?" She said "Yes". We'll see how willing she is when we are up close and personal with him! I really wanted to go to The Festival of Lights on Christmas Eve, but I looked up online they are closed that day. So, we plan on going there next weekend or on New Year's Eve.

Well, its going on 4 am and I got to get up early, so I am going to try and go back to sleep. I don't know what my problem is, but once a month I am unable to sleep well for a few days. Then I go back to sleeping fine. It's frustrating. Goodnight! Or should I say good morning?!

3 comments:

Cheryl said...

too bad you can't go to the orange bowl! oh well, a party sounds like fun! I hope Santa goes well! We want to go to the festival of lights too, just finding the time is tough!

Creative Play Child Care said...

We are going to Festival of Lights tonight. I am excited.

Oh snap those santa pics!!

Sorry you can't go to the Orange bowl..whatever that is. Maybe next fruit season.

Sorry you can't sleep, that stinks.

Have a great rest of the weekend.

Crystal said...

We plan to go to the festival of lights soon too.....I just hate to go when its freezing out! The Burgan bowl sounds better and fun! Can't wait to see the Santa pics!