Olivia has shown interest in starting to potty train for a couple months now. She will tell us when she poo poo's and will bring us a new diaper and her wipes whenever she wants changed. She could barely be wet and want changed. Soooo we bought her a "Princess Potty". I have been letting her run around the house without a diaper on and she will sit on her potty, but has yet to pee or poo in the pot. She tries to pee, but when she does sit on it nothing comes out. We aren't forcing her to do it, but its there for when she is completely ready to give up the diapers. It will come down to us taking a couple of days where we don't go anywhere and let her run around without a diaper on all day. Again, we aren't forcing it, but since she shows interest we thought we would start it.
Another thing she does that is funny to us is we have used Pampers diapers from the day she was born up until a couple of months ago. We thought we would save money and buy the Sam's brand diapers. They have been good diapers, she hasn't leaked out of them or anything, but we did get a bad batch last time. The grips weren't on the diapers correctly and so she started to leak out of them. She could wear them for an hour and then she would start leaking. So, I told Matt I wanted to go back to Pampers Cruisers. I like the grips on them a lot better and the diapers seem better quality. However, we were going to try and use up the rest of the Sam's brand diapers too. Well, now Olivia won't wear the Sam's brand diapers. We will try and sneak them on her and she will look down and see Elmo is not on her diaper. She will say "Elmo?" and will take her diaper off and get out a Pampers diaper. Whenever she wants her diaper changed she will say "Elmo" and point down. We think its cute!
5 comments:
What a miss smarty pants for recognizing the diaper difference!
I hope that the potty training goes well! It doesn't seem possible that she is ready to start that! She shouldn't be this old yet!!!!
I think letting her have a potty to use whenever she wants is a great idea! Definitely don't force it since she's still so young but letting her experiment is a great decision! She will get more and more comfortable with it and when she's ready, she will do it! That's awesome that she shows interest....good job lil O!
Oh and the diaper thing.....too funny! You have a little diaper snob on your hands! ha ha
that is funny! It sounds like she is going to be a breeze to potty train when she is totally ready. I agree having it available to her now is a great idea. I hope it goes well! I would want Elmo diapers instead of just plain ones too...smart girl has style already!!
Avery was the same way at that age. But, she still didn't end up potty training until age 3!!! I hope you have better luck than I did!! I agree though that giving her the opportunity to start is the best way to go rather than forcing her - that can only backfire!!!
renee is olivia's age and is potty trained. she just insisted on doing it and she did it.
Post a Comment