I had to go to a baby shower on Saturday. I really wasn't looking forward to it because the girl and I aren't exactly friends. I thought we were growing, getting to know one another better since we hang out quite often with our circle of friends. Her husband Dave is the funniest guy I have ever met. He's hilarious and Tara is as dry as grass in a drought! I don't know how else to explain her! I mean, Dave could say the funniest thing in America and Tara would not laugh and say he's stupid. That's her personality. I guess that's why we really don't "click" although Tara doesn't click with many people.
So, as I was saying I really thought we were growing with our relationship, talking more when we're around eachother and I thought we were to the point where I could call her my friend. So, I go to the baby shower with 3 of my other friends that we hang out with. Basically a few of Matt's fraternity brothers wives and we have all become really close thru the years. I honestly only went to the shower for Dave, not really Tara. I also felt awkward because I didn't invite Tara to my baby shower, but that was a year and a half ago and like I mentioned I thought we were growing.
Heather, Sarah, Bonnie and I were all talking amongst ourselves and Tara was talking to some of her family. When someone asked Tara who us 4 were Sarah overheard her say "Oh, they are just Dave's friends wives". Talk about feeling unwelcome! Sarah told us this and we all pretty much felt the same way...we all wanted to walk out of there with the presents we bought them in our hand and LEAVE!!!! Of course we didn't, but HOW RUDE!!!
On our way back to my house we were talking about how Tara is towards us and that we all really want to try and make an effort to get to know her better. Especially since they will be having a baby in 7 short weeks and we all hang out A LOT! I am willing to be friends with her (we all are) for Dave's sake. Only because we know how much Dave wants to hang out with his friends, his BEST friends and for Tara to act the way she does to "his friends wives" it makes it hard on all of us.
I told Matt I won't hold what she said against her in anyway only because I like Dave. I honestly was surprised I was invited to her shower. Matt even said before I was invited that he didn't think I would be invited. I don't know. Its just weird and I don't understand why she is the way she is and I really feel sorry for Dave for having to live with her the rest of his life!!!!
7 comments:
did she come into the group late? maybe she feels that way because all the rest of you are so close and she's the outsider? she is still rude.
No, she's an original "groupie"! Her and Dave dated all through college and didn't get married until 2005. I think its cause we're not one of her sorority sisters.
That is really rude!! You didn't even have your own names!!!!! That would have pissed me off and I would have a hard time not holding it against her. Actually, I would probably say something to her in private. I take things very personally and that is something I wouldn't let go.
Actually, I have a different opinion. I think not only you guys felt weird for being there, but she must have felt weird about it too and explained that you three were wives of Dave's friends to explain why she wasn't hanging out with you and vise versa. I don't think she meant to be rude, I think it was just as awkward for her as it was for you three. The only way to make it better is to talk to her more and kill her with kindness.........she may be shy or feel like an outsider or she might just be a rude snob........don't know but there's my 2 cents! ha
OK if she has known you all that long she is extremely rude. She seems rather stuck up!
Yeah, Crystal...you're too nice! We've known her for 10 years and she has always been like this. That's why I thought it was funny we were invited! Well, she is nicer to Bonnie and Heather than she is to me and Sarah....
Okay, I give up.....SHE'S A RUDE SNOT BOX! HA
Post a Comment