Yesterday we had our much anticipated Feeding Team consultation. We had to bring a couple different foods Olivia likes to eat, so we brought with us La Creme and graham crackers. Thats about the only two things we know she will eat. Everything else is trial and error and usually ends up with a gag then throw up. So, we met with 7 different people, all who are part of the "team". Three women sat in and talked with us while Olivia ate. They watched how much she ate, if she can feed herself (which she does) and we explained to them what she typically eats in a day. We also explained how she shoves her hand down her throat, gags, then regurgitates whatever she is trying to eat.
The dietician gave us some pointers to get her to eat more calories during the day (so she doesn't wake up in the middle of the night hungry). She suggest we put heavy cream into her food, dip different foods into ranch dressing or anything that will give it a "kick" and to add butter, margarine etc...to the foods she trys to eat. She also suggested a multi-vitamin crushed up and put into her first bite of yogurt. So, I went to the store today and got the heavy cream and ranch dressing, but I forgot to get the vitamins.
All 7 of them agreed she is developmentally above and beyond a 13 month old. In fact, she is more devlopmentally like an 18 month old! They also said that she is a very good weight and height! 18 lbs 6 oz and 27 1/2 inches long. They looked at both Matt and myself and said to me "You look tall" and they said Matt looks "short" and that she is leaning towards the short side of the gene pool! Which we already knew. With all that said, they are recommending Occupational Therapy to get her to eat more. Its that next step of chewing her food and swallowing it. Rather than chewing it, storing it , then spitting it back out! The pediatrician who met with us said this is VERY normal and common with toddlers her age to not chew food. The entire visit made me feel so much better about everything. They commended us for doing an early interventioon and nipping this in the bud now rather than waiting a year or two.
I mentioned that a girl from my work, her baby eats anything and everything and is 15 months old. I told her she will eat two hot dogs in one sitting or 4 mini cheeseburgers in one sitting and the pediatrician said that her baby has the nutritional problem, not Olivia. Apparently, recent studies have found toddlers and babies who do eat a lot usually have other problems going on and its not necessarily a "good" thing for a baby to eat SO much in one sitting. She mentioned to me that I probably think Olivia doesn't eat much at all through the day. Which, I don't. I don't know where she gets her energy! She reassured me and told me that toddlers don't need a lot to keep themselves fueled and energized during the day and that Olivia is getting the nutrition her body needs.
It was a lot of information to take in and I know I am forgetting some things that we were told, but I am excited to start occupational therapy. The best part is the therapist will come to our house! We will probably go to an outpatient facility too, but it will be so nice to have her learning to eat in the comfort of our own home. I will be receiving a call in about a week to set up our first session. I'll keep you all informed on how it goes!
9 comments:
I am so glad your appointment went well!!! I knew it would! I think Lil O will be chewing and swallowing before you know it! I love that they come to your home, that's awesome!!!
I'm just repeating what the doc said about the bunch of food in one sitting. Obviously there is some truth behind her comments considering Amy's baby has all sorts of problems.
I am sorry if I offended or hurt you (or anyone else) while reading this post. That was certainly not my intention. I was simply just writing out my thoughts and everything that happened during our consultation yesterday.
I must clarify (because I think this is being mis-read) that when I was telling the doctor how much Kennedy eats, I was wanting to get a feel on why Olivia doesn't eat that much and how to get her to eat like that. When she told me that Kennedy has the nutritional problem and when toddlers/babies eat that much there is something else going on...meaning they are sick in some sort of way. Which, clearly Kennedy IS sick. That is the point the doctor was getting at.
I didn't mean for it to come across that every child that has a good, healthy appetite that can eat alot has health problems. I didn't mean that at all and I am sorry if it came across that way.
Obviously Olivia has problems eating and thats why WE were the ones meeting with the feeding team.
I am confused...who got upset? I am so glad they said it was normal and you are getting help. She will be eating everything in sight in no time!!
If she wasn't getting what she needed you'd know it, her energy level would drop. She is just a precious little peanut!!
Keep us posted!!
Is there a full moon?????
I knew it would go fine - she will be eating all of the big kid food in no time!
Aww... she is just so darn precious! I'm glad you guys went to get things figured out for her. She'll be eating lots of new stuff in no time!
Post a Comment