We went to a wedding lastnight and it was a lot of fun. When we got the invitation in the mail and saw they were getting married on February 29th (leap day) I think its kinda neat. I don't know when they will actually celebrate their anniversary, but every 4 years would be really special!
It was probably the quickest ceremony I have EVER been to. It was at Drees Pavilion in DeVou Park. It was supposed to start at 6 pm, but probably started closer to 7 after. It was over at 6:15!!! 8 minutes long! The music was very untraditional too. When the mothers were seated they came down the aisle to "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" (the newer, trendier version, not Judy Garland's version) and the Best Man and Maid of Honor came down the aisle to "Clocks" by Coldplay then Amanda came down the aisle to "Bittersweet Symphony" (I can't remember who sings it) they exchanged vows and it was over!! They marched back down the aisle to "Beautiful Day" by U2.
After that they had all of the guests (about 150 to 200) go outside (BEAUTIFUL view of the city) and we all were in a picture with Scott and Amanda! It was a little chilly, but I think it was a neat idea. After that we headed to the reception at The Waterfront.
They didn't do any of the traditional things with the reception either. They didn't do any type of dances or cutting of the cake. I think they just wanted everyone to have a good time and not do any of that stuff!!
The food was very untraditional too! They had salad, very small chicken quesadillas and small tenderloin sandwiches. I was starving by time we left!!! The reception was a lot of fun. Matt introduced me to a lot of his friends from work. We sat with a couple and I have made myself a new friend~her name is Melissa and she is very sweet. As we were talking she was asking where I work and I told her The Plastic Surgery Group, and she says "OH MY GOSH"! It turns out she has just quit her job and applied at TPSG! Not only that, but she talked to our office administrator yesterday afternoon over the phone about a position!! I told her I would e mail Debbie and let her know I met her. What a strange coincidence!
Another strange thing happened, but I can't really post about it. Only because it involves HIPPAA and a patient! So, I don't want to post anything about it. Just believe me it is STRANGE!!!!
They had a beautiful ice sculpture monogrammed with their initials. Coming out of the ice sculpture was jagermeister! Yes, they had a jager fountain! Unfortunately Matt likes doing jager bombs and I had to cut him off. Even then he was more drunk than I wanted him to be. He sobered up a little bit, but I just get annoyed when he gets drunk. Only because he's so different than his real personality.
We got home around 11:30 and Olivia was sound asleep. My dad watched her because my mom is in Arizona visiting my Grandma. He said she did really well. She fell asleep around 7:15, but he accidentally woke her up and he said she cried for 45 minutes before she fell back asleep. I was going to call and check on her around the time he said she woke up, but I didn't. Only because I was afraid I would have woken her up!! So, I know if I would have called I would have raced home!!!
2 comments:
I am glad you had a night out together and Olivia did well. The wedding sounds interesting.
Very interesting wedding! ha That's so weird that you met a girl who is applying at TPSG, good for her to have someone that can put in a good word now! That will be funny if you two end up working together! Oh and your dad babysits more than any man I know!!! ha ha
Post a Comment