I hope I get a better night sleep tonight. Lastnight I was sound asleep and around 11:30 pm our smoke detectors started to go off. They are so loud it hurts my ears! I jumped out of bed and so did Matt to see if there was a fire. First thing I did was run into Olivia's room. She was still asleep. We checked the house and there was no smoke or fire. The smoke detectors shut off and I went back to sleep. About 20 minutes later they went off again! AAGGHH! So, again we checked everything. No smoke, no fire. I then realized it was the smoke detector in the hall, our bedroom and Olivia's room that all went off at the same time. The one in the computer room didn't. The three that went off had flashing green light and the other one did not. I pressed a button to reset them and it seemed to have worked. I went back to sleep and was sound asleep until 3 am and the one in our bedroom started to go off again. UGH! I was so annoyed and tired. Luckily Olivia slept thru all of it, otherwise it could have been worse! Our smoke detectors are electric with battery back up, but I took the whole thing apart and took out the battery. It beeped every minute for the rest of the night. I was too tired and so was Matt to fool with it anymore. I could stand the one beep each minute, but when they initially go off whew weee! It is so loud I thought it would wake the neighbors!
My dad came over to work on the basement and he checked it out. He thinks maybe when he was doing something with the electric box yesterday that maybe it triggered something. I don't know. The funniest thing, well, maybe not real funny is Huckleberry. He has been so scared all day. When they initially went off he ran down to the basement and slept down there all night by himself. He usually is in bed with us! When I woke up thismorning I went downstairs to check on him. He came upstairs, but since the thing was still beeping in our room he was still scared so he went outside and sat on the front porch for 2 hours until my dad got here. Poor thing, we finally got him inside and he ran straight for the basement. I got him to come back upstairs, but he then wanted to sit on our deck. He was on our deck for a couple of hours until my dad went out and picked him up and brought him inside. He ran back downstairs where he has been all day. He finally just came up and its 8:30! He won't go down our hallway though, he is still scared! Big BABY!!!!
4 comments:
Oh how annoying!!! That would have scared me to death at first but after I figured out there was no fire, I would have been so mad that it woke me up! ha ha I hate to be awakened like that! I'm glad there was no fire though......Thank God!
That's funny about Huck. Klesky would probably be like that too, he is afraid of fireworks and thunderstorms! ha ha
Oh poor Huck, oh yeah you guys too. hee hee. I love dogs. That really sucks, hope all goes well tonight!! Our dogs are afraid of anything that beeps because they have electric collars that beep as a warning, Mira is deathly afraid of my deep fryer. Now that is a baby!
oh my goodness, i would have thrown the suckers outside...forget a fire! OH I HATE MY SLEEP BEING DISTURBED and it wasn't even by a human!!
Ugh! That is so scary when it happens. It's happened to us before too. Or we get that little chirp sound that the battery is going to die and we search for the one that is making the noise. Of course it's usually in one of the boys rooms and Todd has to sneak in there to pull the battery out and not wake the sleeping child. ha!
Post a Comment