Thursday, July 26, 2007

Starting Solids

I am going to start Olivia on solids this weekend! I've been holding off as long as I could, but she's ready. She is 5 months and 1 week, I was trying to hold off until 6 months, but she is showing such an interest in MY food. I can't wait anymore! As much as I appreciate everyone giving me there homemade meals for her a few months ago, I am going to give her jarred food. I may still try it with some things, but having the time to prepare some things just doesn't quite fit into our crazy lifestyle sometimes! I am not completely ruling it out, just for now it will be easier on me.

Matt wants to be here when I feed her so he can videotape it. So I figured the weekend will be a good time! Her pediatrician didn't specify what to start her on, but my sister said her pediatrician recommended doing light colored veggies to dark colored veggies. I had already bought green beans so I called my friend Stacie. We have the same pediatrican and she said she started her daughter on green beans too. I thought to start her on green beans since its not as sweet as sweet potatoes or something and we would work our way to the sweeter things. I figure since the doctor didn't specify and I looked things up online and it didn't specify that she should be ok with the green beans.

I will take pictures and post them after we feed her. I am excited! I hope she takes after me and likes vegetables! Matt hates them!

7 comments:

Cheryl said...

My dr just said to start them on veggie because if you start with fruits they won't at the veggies. Also do the same on for a few days so you know if they have any problems with each one. If you give them a bunch of different ones and they break out or something you don't know what the problem is.

Carrie said...

Yeah, that is what I thought about starting her on veggies. I thought she will like fruits and not like veggies if I start her on fruits.

SamandSawyersMom said...

what about cereal? Our dr said that they should start on a one grain cereal first because it has very little to make them sick or complicate their systems...once that works...you add a veggie to the cereal.

Carrie said...

I've been giving her cereal for about 3 weeks now. Its in her formula. Tonight and tomorrow I am going to spoon feed it to her to get her used to eating from the spoon.

Amanda said...

We were always told vegetables first and fruit second. I think we had a couple months between the two groups.

Jamie said...

we were told ice cream first, that's weird!

Crystal said...

We were told to start with steak!