Wednesday, June 20, 2007

Strange Dinner at Hoggy's

OK, so Matt and I had the weirdest waiter in the world tonight! We went to Hoggy's and it was our waiter's second night working. We wouldn't have known it, but he told us!!! So, he starts off by telling us what a bad day he has had. He was stiffed on a $50 bill, no tip. Poor guy, feel sorry for him right? Well, I did most of the night. He then told us his girlfriend just found out she is pregnant so he is working as hard as he can for her and there unborn baby. But with being stiffed he said all he made (as of then) was $2 all day. Well then it was taking FOREVER for our food to come out and he comes out after a few minutes and tells us that our food will be 10 more minutes. No big deal, we are layed back and really didn't care. So, then he is waiting another table and after that table leaves he comes over to us and tells us that they only left him a $2 tip and want us to order a bunch of food so we can leave him a $10 tip!!! Unbelievable right? It was just too weird. After were finished eating he disappeared! He didn't give us our bill! Eventually another waiter comes over and asks if we need anything because our waiter was "talking to someone" and I told her we were waiting on our bill, so she brings it to us and our original waiter comes out, apologizes and tells us he was talking to his manager about his money. Well, then Olivia had this little teether/chew toy in her mouth and she dropped so he picked it up for me and he said "is there a $5 bill in there?" By that time he was starting to make me mad. I just wanted to leave!! He was just telling us WAY too much info, I think it was probably illegal to tell us how much of a tip to leave!!! We left him $5, because we really did feel bad for him and he reminded us of how our dog acts, which is kind of a backwards personality!!

5 comments:

Cheryl said...

Ok that is strange!! No wonder he wasn't getting good tips if he acted that way with everyone.

Char said...

Weird! I bet he won't be there for long.

Crystal said...

Wow, I would have been looking for a camera......thinking I was on candid camera or something!

Amy said...

I tend to think people who act like that are doing just that, putting on an act. I bet he was trying to play you guys to get you to feel sorry for him and leave him a huge tip, instead of just working for it with good service! The whole thing would have pissed me off and would make me not want to leave anything!

SamandSawyersMom said...

wow. I am a 20 percent tip person regardless. Everyone makes fun of me. Every once in awhile, I'll leave less if they were really bad. I would have told his boss. That is ridiculous.